Courtesy of Cycle News
2019 AFT Singles Champion Dalton Gauthier (No. 79 D&D Cycles/Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson XG750R) earned his first AFT Production Twins presented by Vance & Hines victory of the season with a large contingent of home-state fans cheering him on.

Gauthier shook free from 2018 AFT Singles king and fellow Pennsylvanian Dan Bromley (No. 62 Memphis Shades/Vinson Construction Yamaha MT-07) relatively early. He then went about building up his advantage en route to a blowout victory.

“It felt awesome winning in front of all the PA fans,” Gauthier said. “That was a fun racetrack, and I hope we come back next year. That helped my confidence so much. I’ve just been struggling so much this year. I’ve been trying my hardest, but I feel like I shouldn’t be trying so hard. Tonight, I just cruised out there. I can’t thank the Vance & Hines guys enough for giving me an awesome motorcycle.”

Title leader and holeshot expert Cory Texter (No. 65 G&G Racing/Yamaha Racing Yamaha MT-07) made Gauthier’s breakthrough a bit easier by stumbling off the start from pole. By the race’s midpoint, Texter clawed his way into a three-way battle with Bromley and 2020 AFT Singles champ Dallas Daniels (No. 32 Estenson Racing Yamaha MT-07).

Despite taking part in his first-ever oval race aboard a twin-cylinder (he earlier won his class debut at the Atlanta Super TT), Daniels overcame the twin challenge presented by Texter and Bromley to lock down a most impressive runner-up finish.

As for Texter, the fact that a seventh podium in eight races felt like a bit of a disappointment is a testament to the type of season he’s putting together. Despite Gauthier’s Saturday night triumph, Texter walked away with a still-imposing 31-point lead in his favor.

Johnny Lewis (No. 10 Moto Anatomy X Powered by Royal Enfield Twins FT) fought his way forward throughout the Main, ultimately putting the Royal Enfield ahead of Bromley’s Yamaha for fourth by 0.007 seconds.


Pos. Rider Bike Gap
1. Dalton Gauthier (H-D) 21 Laps
2. Dallas Daniels (Yam) 2.936
3. Cory Texter (Yam) 3.546
4. Johnny Lewis (R-E) 4.999
5. Dan Bromley (Yam) 5.006
6. Chad Cose (H-D) 8.616
7. Ben Lowe (H-D) 9.962
8. Danny Eslick (Kaw) 10.163
9. Patrick Buchanan (H-D) 10.371
10. Cameron Smith (Yam) 11.755


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *